Catbalogan City Disaster Council coordinates efforts & resources for Typhoon Yolanda

City Mayor Stephany Uy-Tan as the Chair of the Local Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council (LDRRMC) regularly convenes with various sectors and organizations in preparation for the incoming Typhoon Yolanda.

Her office, now serves as the Internal Command Post (ICP) for all rescue and relief operations in coordination with 8th Infantry Division Philippine Army, Philippine National Police, Philippine Navy, Philippine Coast Guard, Bureau of Fire Protection, Filipino-Chinese Volunteer Fire Brigade, React Hamorawon, Kabalikat Civicom, Alert Philippines, ACCESS 5, Philippine Guardians, and other civic groups.

During its last meeting last November 06, 2013, the council has identified 18 evacuation centers, namely: Samar National School, Catbalogan II Central, Eastern Visayas Regional Science High School, Samar State University Mercedes Campus, Barangay Mercedes Church, Maulong Elementary School, 8th Infantry Division Chapel, Silanga High School/Silanga Elementary School, Barangay Payao Chapel, Pupua Elementary School, Estaka Buri School, Cabugawan Elementary School, San Bartolome Church, Lagundi Elementary School/Lagundi Barangay Hall, Catbalogan City Division, Samar State University Maceda Gymnasium, Samar College, and Canlapwas Church.

These evacuation centers shall cover clusters of barangays and shall be coordinated by civic groups. All evacuations shall be coordinated by the Internal Command Post so all rescue operations must be communicated through proper channels.

(with reports from CDRRMC Officer Eliot Lopez Jr, Photos courtesy of Mr. Michael Balan)

Comments are closed.