The City of Catbalogan is the latest Local Government Unit to become a recipient of the Sagana at Ligtas na Tubig sa Lahat (Salintubig) Program – which is being undertaken by the Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG) to make clean and safe water supply accessible in several municipalities and barangays.

To mark this development, Catbalogan City Mayor Stephany Uy-Tan personally came to the DILG – Regional Office 8 in Tacloban City to receive the cheque worth 1.3 Million to be used for the first tranche of the project.

The turn-over of said grant was facilitated by DILG Assistant Regional Director Arnel M. Agabe, OIC Chief Finance and Administration Atty. Cyril Casey G. Blanco, CPA and Salintubig Program Manager Engineer Ofelia Pido. City Department Heads Engr. Arnaldo Aroza, City Planning and Development Coordinator and Ms. Elizabeth Lim, the ICO – Assistant City Treasurer was also with the mayor to witness this occassion.

The said amount, which is just half of the total project cost of 2.650 Million PhP, shall be used to fund the installation of underwater pipes to access fresh water from the Catbalogan City main land to the island barangays of Darahuway Dako and Darahuway Gote.

The City Government will be forming a partnership with the Catbalogan Water District for implementing this project. At least 20% of the expenditures in the first tranche must be liquidated first before the City Government can get hold of the remaining funds, which will then be used for the water supply in Sitio Majaba, another island community.

The Salintubig Program first came to be in December 2010 through a Memorandum of Agreement signed by the DILG, the Department of Health and the National Anti-Poverty Commission. This was in response to the Millenium Development Goal no. 7 which aims to reduce by 50% the world population without access to safe and potable water.

The said program has targeted 455 barangays at the start of its implementation. The aforementioned barangays are among the 290 targeted to become areas for the project for the period of 2013 to 2016.

Comments are closed.